What Do you See?

When you look in the mirror, what do you see? Do you see the real you, or what you have been conditioned to believe is you? The two are so, so different. One is an infinite consciousness capable of being and creating whatever it chooses, the other is an illusion imprisoned by its own perceived and programmed limitations.

David Icke.

When you stand before a mirror, the image reflected is as it is in the original state. So whether that image is beautiful or not, the mirror doesn’t say otherwise, it shows what there is, it projects what it is fed.

The same applies to us. I would want to liken the mind to the mirror. It is there that our truest selves are reflected. The sum of our being is embedded on the inside and so what makes you you is not the fair complexion you are adorned with, the perfect dentition or whatever characteristics your body possesses. We are more than what the body presents. So again I ask you, when you look inside, what do you behold? What do you feed the mirror of your mind with? What is the reflection it gives you?

While still a very young girl in my teens, before I got into the university, I had a poor image of myself which I fed my mind with on a constant. I knew I was brilliant in school, but that was nothing to me, I considered it as not the thing in vogue. You wonder why? I felt I was not beautiful at all, I had issues with my big head, my body figure and the way my tongue decides to show itself in between my teeth whenever I speak. These things made me recoil into myself like a snail would into its shell. Relating with people was difficult especially with the girls I considered the babes then. So you would see me stutter and shy away from anything social. I only show myself in the bookish competitions then.

There was no contrary opinion that could change my mind at that time. That is one of the dangers of a poor image that is fed the mind; it is stiff and unfriendly to change except when the one who has fed the mind with that lie decides to embrace the truth. Overtime when I realized how much damage I had wrecked on myself, I decided to undo everything. So what did I do? I began to appreciate the gift of intelligence given me. It was then I closed my eyes to all the things I was not and concentrated on the few things I thought I could do. What surprise there was for me, as the discovery of my inert abilities is always unfolding everyday.

At other times, it may be what you have been taught to believe about yourself especially from childhood. It may be tough but if you do not fight it, then all you’d keep reflecting is that lie you’ve been sold about yourself. Through positive professions, attitude and activities, and a belief in the fact that you have been fearfully and wonderfully made, you can liberate yourself from such falsehood. It is very important you do so!

There is a drop of greatness in every man as a popular ad was wont to say years back. However, no matter how great you are, you cannot look it nor be it if you do not see it. If all you see are your deficiencies then consider it the apparel you will be cloaked with. Your vision is important, very important. If it is myopic, everything you do will be myopic. If it is clouded, then you will be like a traveler headed for nowhere. Your vision determines your path. So you must guard your heart and mind with all diligence because it will if care is not taken be filled with non-issues of life.

I ask you again what do you see when you look inside of you?

Image credit: http://www.stevenwebb.com

2 Comments

  1. What we see is what we first create in our mind. That’s why we cannot grow beyond the activities going on in our mind. There’s need to think of ourselves in every positively aspect of what life brings.

    Mohammed Ali once said, “I am the greatest”. This positive self affirmation even when he was not earned him the ticket as the greatest. You know the rest of the story.

    For me, I see myself as the brightest star in the universe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

